top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErin O'Flaherty

Ugly Shakespeare Tour 2023

At the beginning of 2023 I had the immense privilege of embarking on the national schools tour for The Ugly Shakespeare Company. The Ugly Shakespeare mahi sees Shakespeare transformed into an hour-long slapstick, highly physical, raucous, interactive and high-octane piece that is taken to schools around the country. We performed 'The Dream' (based on A Midsummer Night's Dream) in which I played Hermia, Bottom and Oberon.


I had such a blast performing this hilarious piece with my two co-stars. I learnt so much about incorporating improv and audience interaction into a show, changing things on the fly, allowing mistakes to be part of the work, and being big and bold with physicality. Most of all I loved engaging with the kids while seeing beautiful Aotearoa.


Check out some photos courtesy of Northern Southland College:





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page